Smitefire logo

Join the leading SMITE community.
Create and share God Guides and Builds.

Create an MFN Account

Or

I'm a newbie who just can't get my head around items...Please help!

Please review our General Rules & Guidelines before posting or commenting anywhere on SmiteFire.

Forum » New Player Help » I'm a newbie who just can't get my head around items...Please help! 7 posts - page 1 of 1
Permalink | Quote | +Rep by Sam Fletcher » April 16, 2014 2:34am | Report
Hey guys,
So I'm a new SMITE player and really, I'm a pretty new MOBA player in general. I've dabbled in all the others but they've never really gelled with me. SMITE, on the other hand, has really captured me. I've read guides, played games and I'm starting to really understand what the roles are, what's expected of them and what to do when you're playing as/assisting/trying to take down them.

I cannot, for the life of me however, wrap my head around the items. It's been the same in all the other MOBAs I've played really, I buy items that are recommended or are part or a build I've read online but I never really understand why I'm buying these items and, as such, I feel like I cannot properly adapt to different situations. I understand to take magical protection items when I'm getting hit with magic (and visa versa) but I cannot for the life of you tell you why I would take one in that catergory over the other (whether the auras or buffs are suited for the situation or to take the raw stats, etc.).

Is there any recourse or guide out there which can aid me with this? I'd like to not just stare at a page of items and try learn them. Ideally, the guide gives a brief run down of items and explains why or when I would take that item over another one in its group. I've searched around and can't find anything really, maybe someone here can help me...

Thanks in advance guys, I really appreciate the help.

Sam Fletcher

Permalink | Quote | +Rep by Jordenito » April 16, 2014 3:14am | Report