Smitefire logo

Join the leading SMITE community.
Create and share God Guides and Builds.

Create an MFN Account

Or

Do you remember your first match?

Please review our General Rules & Guidelines before posting or commenting anywhere on SmiteFire.

Forum » General Discussion » Do you remember your first match? 6 posts - page 1 of 1
Permalink | Quote | +Rep by Hades4u » April 12, 2021 2:17am | Report
Hey everyone! :)

I was randomly browsing my Steam library and thinking about old games I've used to play back in the day. I was a big fan of Warcraft III's DotA and signed up for both DotA 2 beta and SMITE beta when it was first announced.

Funnily enough, I've received the SMITE invite first and I gave it a try since it was inspired by DotA. The fact that its playable 'heroes' were actually Gods inspired from various pantheons seemed very cool and worth a try.

My first match was on the same God I've played when I started playing SMITE again last year. You've probably guessed right, it was Ymir. The game felt different in a good way, and I was lucky I had prior experience with DotA and it was pretty easy to adapt.

I remember I also played Hades at some point because of obvious reasons, and his play style was much different from what I initially imagined. I think I played for a few weeks and I tried inviting some friends to join me, since I received around 3 beta invites if I recall, but without success.

A few weeks later I've received an invite for DotA 2 beta and since then I've never touched SMITE until last year, just a short break. :P

Do you remember your first match and experience?

P.S. The first trailers got fewer views in all these years than the new Gods reveals get in a day.
Hades4u
<Community Manager>

Awards Showcase
Show more awards

Distinguished (54)
Permalink | Quote | +Rep by Branmuffin17 » April 12, 2021 8:20am | Report
I 100% don't remember my first SMITE match outside of tutorials and co-op early stuff. Waaaay too far back for me!!!