Smitefire logo

Join the leading SMITE community.
Create and share God Guides and Builds.

Create an MFN Account

Or

SMITE 101: Positioning

Please review our General Rules & Guidelines before posting or commenting anywhere on SmiteFire.

Forum » News » SMITE 101: Positioning 1 posts - page 1 of 1
Permalink | Quote | +Rep by Dash » June 27, 2016 12:01pm | Report

In every SMITE pro match the most thrown around term is, without a doubt, ‘positioning’. Even in Ranked games this comes up time and time again, especially when you or your teammates are not performing as well as you could. But what is positioning exactly? That, my loyal reader, is what I’m here to explain.

When I started playing SMITE in the early stages of open beta I had no prior MOBA experience. Hell, I didn’t have any PvP experience period! Even back then people were constantly telling me my positioning was bad, that I needed to improve my positioning, or just plainly that I sucked at the game. While that last one was true, nobody told me what this ‘positioning’ thing was. It took me over a year, and a lot of analysis of (pro)streamers playing the game to figure out what it is and what I need to take into consideration.

Positioning: A Definition

While a lot of people might want to make you think otherwise, good positioning is a hard thing to define. This is primarily because it is completely dependent on the situation, your goal, your role, the team composition and so forth. Every single aspect of the game affects your positioning needs, and as a result the ‘definition’ is constantly shifting.

The best thing I’ve been able to find is a checklist of sorts, listing the conditions you need to fulfill to have the best positioning possible:
  • Can I contribute to the situation?
  • Can i react to the enemies’ actions?
  • Can I advance when the situation moves?
  • Can I retreat when the enemy advance on me?